Chief Elected Official Board

Responsibilities of the CEOs

The Chief Elected Officials (CEO) have a critical role in the creation and oversight of the workforce system in Southeast Kansas.

Responsibilities of the CEOs under WIOA include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Determine the size and membership of the LWDB, based upon the criteria established by WIOA, and appoint members to the local board;
  • Serve as grant recipient and assume fiscal liability for grant funds for WIOA Title I adult, dislocated worker and youth activities; as well as other such federal or state workforce funds as may be awarded;
  • Approve budgets for carrying out the responsibilities of the Local Board;
  • Provide comprehensive oversight of the activities of the Local Board;
  • Ensure that local area partnerships are functioning effectively;

In partnership with the Local Board —

  • Participate in the development of the Local Area Plan;
  • Conduct oversight of One-Stop delivery system, youth activities, and employment and training activities;
  • Select One-Stop operators and eligible service providers and oversee compliance and continuance improvement (may subsequently terminate these for cause);
  • Agree on Memorandums of Understanding between the Local Board and the One-Stop operator(s);
  • Negotiate and reach agreement on performance standards and any additional local performance measures;

In partnership with the Governor —

  • Agree on whether the Local Board may provide core services, intensive service, or both;
  • Agree on whether the Local Board may serve as a One-Stop operator; and
  • Negotiate waiver requests as needed.

Meet Our Chief Elected Officials Board Members

Shari Kaminska

Elk County Commissioner

Region I

Region I consists of the counties of Chautauqua, Elk and Montgomery.

Lonie Addis

Labette County Commissioner

Region II

Region II consists of the counties of Cherokee, Labette, and Neosho.

Rob Roberts - Chair

Miami County Commissioner

Region III

Region III consists of the counties Miami, Linn, Bourbon, and Crawford.

Les McGhee

Anderson County Commissioner

Region IV

Region IV consists of the counties of Anderson, Allen, Wilson, and Woodson.

Bob Saueressig

Coffey County Commissioner

Region V

Region V consists of the counties of Coffey, Greenwood and Lyon.

Did you know?

News & helpful tips from Southeast KANSASWORKS

Debbie Cherry Awarded Volunteer of the Year Award

Debbie Cherry, Workforce Specialist for the Pittsburg Workforce Center, was given the Volunteer of the Year award last night at the Pittsburg Area Chamber of Commerce Annual Banquet. Congratulations, Debbie!

Lana Davis Recognized for 30 Years of Service to the State of Kansas

Lana Davis, TAA Case Manager for the Emporia Workforce Center, was recognized for her 30 years of service to the State of Kansas. Congratulations, Lana!

First Spanish Translator Apprentice in the State of Kansas

Flint Hills Community Health center has partnered with Southeast KANSASWORKS to utilize the Kansas Registered Apprenticeship Program to sign the first Spanish Translator apprentice in the entire State of Kansas. Through this program, Flint Hills Community Health...


Southeast KANSASWORKS, Inc. is one of five Workforce Development Areas in Kansas designated by the Governor under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act.

We serve the residents of 17 Kansas counties: Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Coffey, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Crawford, Elk, Greenwood, Labette, Linn, Lyon, Miami, Montgomery, Wilson, and Woodson.

American Job Centers are located in

Emporia, Chanute, Independence, Paola and Pittsburg.


Southeast KANSASWORKS, Inc. is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program-Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

Content | Menu | Access panel