Notifce of Local Area V Chief Elected Officials Board Opportunity Meetings

  • 0

Notifce of Local Area V Chief Elected Officials Board Opportunity Meetings

The Local Area V Chief Elected Officials Board and the Workforce
Development Board (LWDB), dba Southeast KANSASWORKS, Inc., invite
elected officials and citizens of the 17-counties in Southeast Kansas
that make up Local Workforce Development Area V to attend one of two
open public meetings.  The purpose of the meetings are to discuss the
Role of Chief Elected Officials, the opportunity for participation on
the Chief Elected Officials Board, and the draft of the Chief Elected
Officials Agreement.

The first meeting will be held at 11:00 a.m. on April, 29, 2016, in
Chanute at Neosho County Community College, Chapman Learning Center
Room 453.  The second meeting will be held at 2:00 p.m. on April, 29,
2016, in Burlington at the Coffey County Courthouse Community Room.
If you are unable to attend in person, you may participate via
conference call at 605-562-3180, code: 379-882-738. Please RSVP to
gro.s1524254114krowk1524254114es@of1524254114ni1524254114 or call 620-794-9084.

The 17-county region includes CEO representation from the following:
Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Crawford, Elk,
Greenwood, Labette, Linn, Lyon, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson and
Woodson.  Under the Workforce Investment Act, which was replaced by
WIOA, the county commissions for each of the 17-counties signed the
previous Chief Elected Official Board Agreement, which is attached.

Given the large number of units of general local government and CEOs
within our local area, WIOA allows an individual CEO, or group of
CEOs, within the area to act on behalf of all the CEOs.  For purposes
of representation on the CEOB, Local Area V is subdivided into five
(5) regions: Region I consists of the counties of Chautauqua, Elk and
Montgomery; Region II consists of the counties of Cherokee, Labette,
and Neosho; Region III consists of the counties Miami, Linn, Bourbon,
and Crawford; Region IV consists of the counties of Anderson, Allen,
Wilson, and Woodson; and Region V consists of the counties of Coffey,
Greenwood and Lyon. The CEOB shall be comprised of one (1)
representative elected from each of the Regions.

CEO’s are defined in Kansas, as a “unit of general local government”
which includes counties and cities.  Units of general local government
are defined as “Any general purpose political subdivision of a state
that has the power to levy taxes and spend funds, as well as general
corporate and police powers. (Reference WIOA Section 3(62)).”
Participation of CEOs is voluntary.

I have attached a copy of the Kansas Department of Commerce Workforce
Development Office Policy, Number: 5-01-01 Role of the Chief Elected
Officials and would encourage you to review it.  The policy discusses
the opportunity for participation, responsibilities of the CEO’s,
requirements for CEO Agreements, etc. based on WIOA, Title 1 Subtitle
A, Section 107 (c)(1)(B)(i).  I have also included a draft copy of the
proposed Chief Elected Official Agreement (based on the new WIOA and
State requirements) and a copy of the previous Chief Elected Agreement
signed by all 17-counties in the local area.

If you have questions, please contact Leanne Kehres, Executive
Director for Southeast KANSASWORKS, Inc., at gro.s1524254114krowk1524254114es@en1524254114naeL1524254114 or
620-366-0046 or Rob Roberts, Chair of the Chief Elected Official Board
at gro.s1524254114kytnu1524254114ocima1524254114im@st1524254114rebor1524254114r1524254114 or at 913-856-8006.

LA V CEO Agreement 160411 LA V CEO Agreement 5-01-01 Role of Chief Elected Officials (1)

Employee Login